

September 12, 2022

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader, U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Chairman Manchin U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader, U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Ranking Minority Member Barrasso U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Gene Rodrigues for Assistant Secretary, Office of Electricity, U.S. Department of Energy

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), which represents the governor-designated State Energy Directors from the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia, strongly supports the confirmation of Gene Rodrigues as Assistant Secretary in the Office of Electricity at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Mr. Rodrigues is a nationally-recognized expert in energy policy, programs, and regulation, with a unique understanding of electricity markets and technologies, as well as the roles and responsibilities of federal, state, local, and private sector electricity stakeholders. In particular, as an executive with ICF he worked tirelessly to understand the electric sector priorities of the nation's 56 governor-designated State Energy Directors – NASEO's members - and how those priorities could be addressed by the private sector and public-private partnership investments. In addition, his decades of experience working in leadership positions with one of the nation's largest electric utilities makes him uniquely qualified for the critical role as Assistant Secretary of DOE's Office of Electricity. Moreover, his understanding of the substantial state role – policy and regulation – in guiding electricity markets brings essential expertise to DOE as electricity issues take center stage in the move toward a clean energy future. For these reasons, NASEO has full confidence that Mr. Rodrigues will uphold the critical function that DOE's Office of Electricity plays in bridging federal, state, local, private sector, and research stakeholders around the shared goal of advancing clean, reliable, and affordable electricity across the United States. NASEO applauds the nomination of Gene Rodrigues and encourages the Committee to move quickly on his confirmation.

Best regards,

David Terry, Executive Director, NASEO CC: U.S. State Energy Directors

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair

KELLEY SMITH BURK Florida

Vice Chair

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Treasurer

MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Secretary

WILL TOOR Colorado

Past Chair

ANDREW MCALLISTER California

Parliamentarian

JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE
Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN

EDDY TREVINO Texas

DAN LLOYD Montana

Affiliates' Co-Chairs

ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY
U.S. Green Buildings Council

Executive Director

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel

JEFFREY C. GENZER